The Lohri House

In Zug‘s unique old town in the heart of Switzerland, you will find the oldest house of goldsmiths in Europe. It is documented that goldsmith craftsmanship has continuously been practiced in this historical building since 1620. Today, the Lohri family practices and celebrates this tradition in the second generation. At the beginning of 2016, they reopened the house in the Empire style after elaborately renovating and restoring the building in collaboration with the department of preservation of historical buildings. On these unique premises, you will now find noble watches and fine handmade jewellery.

A golden history

Zug has enjoyed a long tradition of goldsmithing and silversmithing. From the 16th century onwards, the Reformation took place in the large Swiss cities such as Zurich, Bern, Basel and Geneva. Zug remained catholic and its experienced goldsmiths and silversmiths were able to benefit from commissions from the catholic church and therefore establish a good reputation throughout all of Switzerland. To maintain an international renown, the Zug smiths sent their offspring and their assistants to train in Nuremberg and Augsburg – the greatest goldsmithing metropolises at the time. This kept the goldsmith trade in Zug alive. Throughout the centuries, the historical house on Neugasse 27 was used by various goldsmiths for dwelling, working and trading. These respected citizens were often also active statesmen and councillors in Zug and its surroundings.

The 16th-century showroom

The distinctive vaulted room in the ground floor of the house dates back to the beginning of the 16th century, when the Neugasse was first built. The impressive pillars near the entrance offer a first glimpse into the uniqueness of the premises. The ceiling is adorned by elaborate grisaille paintings with laurel motifs. This artistic painting method is characterized by its grey, white and black tones and was chosen as a recurring theme to decorate the interior of the house and give it a characteristic note. Today, the showroom in the ground floor houses a select range of watches and jewellery form world-renowned manufacturers such as Panerai, Omega and Ole Lynggaard.

Historical jewels in the perfect setting

On the first floor of the building, jewellery enthusiasts can purchase rarities from the Lohri Unique Vintage Jewels collection, an exclusive selection of antique jewellery. There is also a small private collection of unique gems from bygone eras that can be admired here. The newly restored Empire style premises appear predestined for housing such unforgettable and timeless pieces, most of which are from the 19th and 20th century. Among these you will find treasures from renowned designers such as Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, Boucheron and Fabergé. During the restoration of the premises here, findings of the original wallpapers and wall coverings were found. To commemorate these discoveries, the walls of these rooms have been adorned with finely-patterned wallpaper in blue and grey tones and matching plain-coloured panels.

The Wedding Ring Salon

On the second floor of the building, a romantic, dreamlike world opens to the visitor. In our lovingly furnished Wedding Ring Salon with golden chandeliers, finely-patterned wallpaper, floral arches and exquisite furnishings, you will feel like you are in a fairy tale. Here, tradition and continuity are practiced and celebrated and dreams of jewellery are created for your future togetherness. The center of the ceiling is adorned with a stucco medallion featuring cherubs – a unique piece dating from 1780 acquired by the Lohri Family from the historic preservation office of Thurgau. The painted frieze surrounding the medallion is entirely based on motifs from sketches by Karl Amade Spillmann, the goldsmith who re-edified the house in 1806 on top of the 16th-century ground floor.

A landmark for the city

The distinctive empire-style facade of the Lohri House with its inviting showcase is a real visual asset to the city of Zug. The colour scheme in grey and white was developed in collaboration with the department of preservation of historical buildings, the construction management, and the painter. The consoles supporting the window structures and ledges have been embellished with gold. On the old original plan of the façade, five scenes from Greek mythology were visible, each one with gold as part of its narrative: Hephaestus‘ workshop, Jason and Medea steal the Golden Fleece in Colchis, Heracles steals the golden apples of the Hesperides, Danaë and the golden rain and the Judgement of Paris.

Owners of the Lohri House in chronological order

1620 The property is owned by Johann Jakob I. Muos, goldsmith, cantonal Grand Council member, treasurer and Governor of Cham
1640 Johann Jakob I. Muos’s son of the same name takes over the property. He is also a goldsmith, treasurer of Zug and captain in the armed services abroad. He dies in Florence in 1650
1688 The Reverend Johann Oswald Meyenberg sells the house belonging to his brother, the late Hans Kaspar Meyenberg, to Beat Thoman Stocklin for 1250 gulden
1704 Lawyer and cantonal Grand Council member Karl Anton Letter is the new owner. He inherits the house from his father-in-law Beat Thoman Stocklin
1754 Plazid Anton Letter, cantonal council member, becomes the owner of his grandparents’ house
1770 Franz Michael Spillmann, silversmith, takes over the building. He is son of the renowned goldsmith Franz Anton (1705-1783)
1805 Spillmann’s son, Karl Amade, is Zug’s last significant silversmith. He has the empire style building (now Neugasse 25/27) built on the original vaulted ground floor. The master builder is Melchior Schellhammer
1856 Karl Joseph Spillmann acquires part of his father’s property, the building at Neugasse 27, for 7300 francs. He is a goldsmith and administrator for the poor and orphans, as well as President of the Town Council
1867 The twin property is sold to the senior civil servant and mortgage administrator Georg Nussbaumer-Schäll from Oberägeri. He sells Neugasse 25 to the Spillmann sisters.
1885 Examining judge Johann Martin Christian II. Kaiser im Hof-Brandenberg acquires the property at Neugasse 27. He is a cousin of Karl Joeseph Spillmann and transfers the house to his son Joseph Kaiser im Hof, goldsmith and silversmith, who uses it for both commercial and residential purposes. Kaiser served his apprenticeship in Horgen and spent his period as a journeyman in Pforzheim and Paris.
1921 Walter Kaiser takes over his father’s business. He served his apprenticeship in Zurich and studied at Schwäbisch Gmund School for the Precious Metals Industry. He later worked in Chur, Geneva and Paris.
1952 After Josef Kaiser’s retirement, goldsmith Max Bossart works at Neugasse 27
1992 Goldsmith Hansruedi Wassmann works on the premises
2014–2016 Elaborate renovation and restauration of the building under the ownership of the Lohri family.
2016 Reopened as the Lohri Chronometrie and Joaillerie

Das Lohri-Haus

Das älteste Goldschmiedehaus Europas befindet sich im Herzen der Schweiz, mitten in der lieblichen Zuger Altstadt. Seit 1620 sind hier nachweislich Gold- und Silberschmiede tätig. Eine glänzende Tradition, die heute von der Familie Lohri in der zweiten Generation weitergeführt und zelebriert wird. Anfangs 2016 wurde das Haus, nach aufwendiger Innen- und Aussenrenovation, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Amt für Denkmalpflege im Empirestil wieder eröffnet. Heute werden in den einzigartigen Räumlichkeiten edle Uhren und handgefertigte Schmuckstücke feilgeboten.

Eine schmucke Geschichte

Die Stadt Zug blickt auf eine lange Tradition der Gold- und Silberschmiedekunst zurück. Im 16. Jahrhundert fand die Reformation in den grossen Städten wie Zürich, Bern, Basel und Genf statt. Zug blieb katholisch und die erfahrenen Gold- und Silberschmiede konnten von den Aufträgen für die reiche katholische Kirche profitieren und sich dadurch schweizweit in diesem Geschäft profilieren. Um qualitativ an der Weltspitze zu bleiben, schickten sie ihre Kinder/Gesellen oftmals zur Ausbildung nach Nürnberg und Augsburg – die damals bedeutendste Goldschmiedmetropolen Mitteleuropas – und so blieb das Goldschmiedegeschäft in Zug lebendig. Das geschichtsträchtige Haus an der Neugasse 27 wurde über die Jahrhunderte von verschiedenen Goldschmieden als Wohnraum, Atelier und Verkaufsraum genutzt. Diese angesehenen Bürger waren meist auch engagierte Staatsmänner und Räte in Zug und Umgebung.

Der Showroom aus dem 16. Jahrhundert

Das markante Gewölbe im Erdgeschoss des Hauses stammt noch aus der Entstehungszeit der Neugasse anfangs des 16. Jahrhunderts. Die imposanten Säulen vermitteln einen ersten Eindruck der Einzigartigkeit dieses Hauses. Aufwendige Grisaillemalereien mit Lorbeermotiven verzieren die Decke. Diese Art der Kunstmalerei zeichnet sich durch seine Grau-, Weiss- und Schwarztöne aus und wurde für die Innenverzierung des ganzen Hauses gewählt, um ihm eine wiederkehrende gestalterische Note zu geben. Heute verfügt dieser Showroom im Erdgeschoss über eine auserwählte Palette von Uhren und Schmuck weltweit renommierter Manufakturen wie Panerai, Omega und Ole Lynggaard.

Historische Schmuckstücke im geschichtsträchtigen Haus

Im ersten Obergeschoss befinden sich der Verkaufsraum mit exklusiven historischen Schmuckstücken der Lohri Unique Vintage Jewels Kollektion sowie auch eine kleine private Schmucksammlung. Ganz im Sinne des Hauses werden hier unvergängliche Unikate verkauft, darunter sind dies Juwelen aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert von bekannten Designern wie Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, Boucheron oder Fabergé. Bei der Restaurierung dieser Räumlichkeiten wurden Originalbefunde von Tapeten und Wandbespannungen entdeckt. Um diese Befundlage zu ehren, wurden hier die Wände mit fein gemusterten Tapeten in Blau-Grautönen und passenden unifarbenen Täfelungen verziert.

Der Trauring-Salon

In der zweiten Etage des Hauses öffnet sich eine romantische Traumwelt. Im liebevoll dekorierten Trauring-Salon mit goldenen Leuchtern, fein gemusterten Tapeten, zarten Blumenbögen und exquisiter Möblierung fühlt man sich wie in ein Märchen versetzt. Hier werden Tradition und Beständigkeit spürbar gelebt und zelebriert sowie Schmuckträume fürs gemeinsame Glück verwirklicht. Der Mittelteil der Decke ist mit einem Stuckmedaillon mit kleinen Engeln geschmückt – ein Unikat von 1780, das die Familie Lohri von der Denkmalpflege Thurgau erworben hat. Der Entwurf für den gemalten, umlaufenden Fries basiert vollständig auf Motiven aus Zeichnungen von Karl Amade Spillmann, der Goldschmied, der 1806 das Haus neu auf das alte Erdgeschoss aus dem 16. Jahrhundert errichten liess.

Ein Wahrzeichen für Zug

Die Fassade des Lohri-Hauses im Empirestil zeigt sich charaktervoll mit seinen einladenden Schaufensternischen. Das Farbkonzept in Grau/Weiss wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der Zuger Denkmalpflege, dem städtischen Bauamt, der Bauleitung und dem ausführenden Maler entwickelt. Auf den Konsolen der Fensterbrüstungen und den Gesimsen wurden Goldhöhungen zur Belebung appliziert. Auf dem alten Original-Fassadenriss sind fünf Szenen aus der griechischen Mythologie zu sehen, die alle Gold als Teil ihrer Geschichte aufweisen: Die Werkstatt des Hephaistos, Jason und Medea rauben das goldene Vlies in Kolchis, Herakles raubt die goldenen Äpfel der Hesperiden, Danaë und der Goldregen und Das Urteil des Paris.

Chronologische Übersicht der Besitzer des Lohri-Hauses

1620 Johann Jakob I. Muos, nachweislich Goldschmied, Grossrat, Säckelmeister, Pfleger zu St. Oswald und Obervogt von Cham ist Besitzer der Liegenschaft.
1640 Der gleichnamige Sohn von Johann Jakob Muos übernimmt das Haus. Auch er ist Goldschmied, Säckelmeister von Zug und Hauptmann in fremden Diensten. Er stirbt 1650 in Florenz.
1688 Pfarrer Johann Oswald Meyenberg verkauft das Haus seines Bruders Hans Kaspar Meyenberg nach dessen Tod für 1250 Gulden an Beat Thoman Stocklin.
1704 Der Fürsprecher und Grossrat Karl Anton Letter ist neuer Besitzer.
Er übernimmt das Haus aus dem Erbe seines Schwiegervaters Beat Thoman Stocklin.
1754 Plazid Anton Letter, Kleinrat, ist Besitzer der grosselterlichen Liegenschaft.
1770 Franz Michael Spillmann, Silberschmied, übernimmt das Haus. Er ist Sohn des renommierten Goldschmieds Franz Anton (1705-1783).
1805 Spillmanns Sohn, Karl Amade, ist Zugs letzter bedeutender Silberschmied. Auf dem alten gewölbten Erdgeschoss lässt er das Empirehaus (heute Neugasse 25/27) errichten. Baumeister ist Melchior Schellhammer.
1856 Karl Joseph Spillmann erwirbt einen Teil der väterlichen Liegenschaft für 7300 Franken, die Neugasse 27. Er ist Goldschmied, Armen- und Waisenverwalter sowie Präsident des Stadtrats.
1867 Die Doppelliegenschaft wird an Regierungsrat und Hypothekarschreiber Georg Nussbaumer-Schäll von Oberägeri veräussert. Er verkauft die Neugasse 25 an die Schwestern Spillmann.
1885 Verhörrichter Johann Martin Christian II. Kaiser im Hof-Brandenberg erwirbt die Liegenschaft an der Neugasse 27. Er ist ein Cousin von Karl Joseph Spillmann und überlässt das Haus seinem Sohn Joseph Kaiser im Hof, Gold- und Silberarbeiter. Es dient als Geschäfts- und Wohnhaus. Kaiser machte seine Lehre in Horgen und verbrachte seine Gesellenzeit in Pforzheim und Paris.
1921 Walter Kaiser übernimmt den Betrieb seines Vaters. Er absolvierte seine Lehre in Zürich und studierte an der Fachschule für Edelmetallindustrie Schwäbisch Gmünd. Später war er in Paris tätig.
1952 Nach Joseph Kaisers Pensionierung wirkt Goldschmied Max Bossart an der Neugasse 27.
1992 Goldschmied Hansruedi Wassmann ist in der Liegenschaft tätig.
2014–2016 Erfolgt die aufwendige Renovation und Restauration unter 2016 dem Besitz der Familie Lohri
2016 Neueröffnung Chronometrie – Joaillerie Lohri.

Für weitere Details zur Baugeschichte und Restaurierung siehe Wikipedia